• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Monitoring of marine mammals and protection of the African manatee on the Cameroonian coast

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Monitoring of marine mammals and protection of the African manatee on the Cameroonian coast

The waters of the Cameroonian coast, (402 km), are home to marine mammals, (cetaceans, sirenians), sea turtles but also a large amount of fishery resources which attract many artisanal and semi-artisanal fishermen. These marine habitats are therefore under great pressure, which also comes from many oil and gas operators building extensive port infrastructure.

 

The entire Cameroonian coast, as well as the Lake Ossa Fauna Reserve, located 50 km from Douala in the Littoral Region, are frequented by the species of sirenian called manatee, (Trichechus senegalensis, VU), also present in the Sanaga river.

 

The project is led by the African Marine Mammal Conservation Organization (AMMCO), whose main objective is to improve the conservation status of marine mammals and in particular the manatee. The innovative aspect of this project lies in the development of a mobile application for the collection of observational data to set up a participatory monitoring network.

 

Due to the overlap of critical manatee feeding areas with fishing areas, bycatch is high and conflicts between fishermen and manatees erupt, resulting in increased poaching, which causes the death of around 150 manatees. every year.

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Suivi des mammifères marins et protection du lamantin africain sur le littoral camerounais

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Suivi des mammifères marins et protection du lamantin africain sur le littoral camerounais

Les eaux du littoral camerounais (402 km) abritent des mammifères marins (cétacés, siréniens), des tortues marines mais aussi une grande quantité de ressources halieutiques qui attirent de nombreux pêcheurs artisanaux et semi-artisanaux. Ces habitats marins sont donc soumis à une forte pression, qui vient aussi de nombreux exploitants pétroliers et gaziers en train de construire de vastes infrastructures portuaires.

L’ensemble de la côte camerounaise ainsi que la Réserve de Faune du Lac Ossa, située à 50 km de Douala dans la Région du Littoral sont fréquentées par l’espèce de sirénien appelé lamantin (Trichechus senegalensis, VU) présent également dans le fleuve Sanaga.

Du fait du chevauchement des zones critiques d’alimentation des lamantins avec les zones de pêche, les prises accidentelles sont nombreuses et des conflits entre pêcheurs et lamantins éclatent, ayant pour résultat l’augmentation du braconnage, qui provoque la mort d’environ 150 lamantins chaque année.

Le projet est porté par l’association African Marine Mammal Conservation Organization (AMMCO), dont l’objectif principal est d’améliorer le statut de conservation des mammifères marins et en particulier du lamantin. L’aspect innovant de ce projet réside dans le développement d’une application mobile pour la collecte des données d’observation pour mettre en place un réseau de suivi participatif.