• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Integrated gorilla conservation and promotion of a sustainable oil palm sector in the northern periphery of Kahuzi-Biega Park (PNKB)

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Integrated gorilla conservation and promotion of a sustainable oil palm sector in the northern periphery of Kahuzi-Biega Park (PNKB)

The 4 forest concessions of local communities (CFCL, 120,200 ha) of the northern periphery of the Kahuzi-Biega National Park (PNKB, 6,000,000 ha, UNESCO World Heritage) located in the territory of Walikale in the North Province -Kivu, (300 km, 7h30 drive from Goma), home to Grauer’s gorillas, (Gorilla beringei graueri, CR), and chimpanzees, (Pan troglodytes schweinfurthii, EN), but also panthers (Panthera pardus, VU), Cercopithèque d ‘Hamluyn (Cercopithecus hamlyni, VU), the Giant Pangolin (Manis gigantea, VU), as well as rodents and terrestrial reptiles among others: the Forest Cobra (Naja melanoleuca), the Gabon viper (Bitis gabonica), etc.

 

CFCL resources are threatened by timber exploitation and artisanal mining, shifting slash-and-burn agriculture, poisoning fishing but above all by significant poaching, both for local consumption of wild meat bush, but also for the sale of it at the local, provincial and national level, encouraged by a weak law enforcement and corruption.

 

The NGO Forêt pour le Développement Intégral (FODI), created in 2009, provides organizational, technical, legal and institutional support to local communities in the implementation of actions to develop and protect forest ecosystems. It is notably supported by Rainforest Foundation Norway and the Jane Goodall Institute. The objective of this project is to contribute to the sustainable protection of the last populations of Grauer’s gorillas living in the CFCLs of the northern periphery of the PNKB.

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Conservation intégrée des gorilles et promotion d’une filière durable de palmier à huile dans la périphérie Nord du parc de Kahuzi-Biega (PNKB)

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation intégrée des gorilles et promotion d’une filière durable de palmier à huile dans la périphérie Nord du parc de Kahuzi-Biega (PNKB)

Les 4 concessions forestières des communautés locales (CFCL, 120 200 ha) de la périphérie Nord du Parc National de Kahuzi-Biega (PNKB, 6 000 000 ha, patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO) situées dans le territoire de Walikale en Province du Nord-Kivu à 300 km (7h30 de route) de Goma, abritent des gorilles de Grauer (Gorilla beringei graueri, CR), et des chimpanzés (Pan troglodytes schweinfurthii, EN) mais aussi des panthères (Panthera pardus, VU) , Cercopithèque d’Hamluyn (Cercopithecus hamlyni, VU), le Pangolin Géant (Manis gigantea, VU), ainsi que des rongeurs et des reptiles terrestres entre autres : le Cobra des forêts (Naja melanoleuca), la Vipère du Gabon (Bitis gabonica), etc.

 

Les ressources des CFCL sont menacées par l’exploitation du bois d’œuvre et l’exploitation minière artisanale, l’agriculture itinérante sur brulis, la pêche par empoisonnement mais surtout par un important braconnage, à la fois pour la consommation locale de viande de brousse, mais également pour la vente de celle-ci au niveau local, provincial et national, encouragé par une faible application de la loi et la corruption.

 

L’ONG Forêt pour le Développement Intégral (FODI), créée en 2009, assure l’accompagnement organisationnel, technique, juridique et institutionnel des communautés locales dans la mise en œuvre d’actions de développement et de protection des écosystèmes forestiers. Elle bénéficie notamment de l’appui de Rainforest Foundation Norvège et la Jane Goodall Institute.

 

L’objectif de ce projet est de contribuer à protéger durablement les dernières populations de gorilles de Grauer vivant dans les CFCL de la périphérie Nord du PNKB.