• Threatened species conservation

Community protection of bonobos and forests in the South Basankusu region

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Community protection of bonobos and forests in the South Basankusu region

The project is located in the north-west of the Democratic Republic of Congo, about 1,000 km from Kinshasa, in the regions of Basankusu and Bolomba (province of Equateur). It is carried by GACEBB, which has been working in the region since 2009, and takes place in 8 forest villages, (200 km²), located near Basankusu, 500 km from the capital of the Province, Mbandaka. He is the only actor in Congolese civil society active on conservation issues, permanently established in Basankusu, a particularly isolated area.

 

These forests support populations of bonobos, (Pan paniscus, EN), directly threatened by intensive hunting for bushmeat, poaching and slash-and-burn agriculture. Added to this is the establishment in the area of ​​logging companies, (often accompanied by illegal logging),and palm oil exploitation leading to the establishment of oil palm plantations in monoculture.

 

In the DRC, nature conservation is the responsibility of the Congolese Institute for the Conservation of Nature, (ICCN), but the areas targeted by the project are not managed by ICCN. Lack of information on existing bonobo populations and levels of pressure makes it difficult to make decisions about putting in place measures to protect species and manage ecosystems.

 

GACEBB has already benefited from two PPI projects, (PPI 4.1 and 4.3), which have produced good results and whose main objectives were to protect wildlife and the bonobos, in particular, by directly associating traditional hunters and by offering populations alternatives. through the development of livestock and fish farming.

 

The overall objective of this project is to contribute to the participatory and integrated conservation of fauna species and more particularly of the bonobos of the ecosystems of Basankusu and Bolomba.

 

More specifically, the project aims to deepen the understanding of the conservation status of bonobos and other main large mammals and to clarify the threats weighing on them in the “Fondé” and “Soolo-Djulu” forests, to strengthen the degree of effective protection. bonobos in the intervention area and in forests recognized as priorities and finally to fundamentally secure forest areas for the benefit of local communities. GACEBB has received organizational support from Well Grounded and is also part of the PPI-funded “Central African Great Apes Alliance” (AGSAC).

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Protection communautaire des bonobos et des forêts de la région du Sud de Basankusu

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Protection communautaire des bonobos et des forêts de la région du Sud de Basankusu

Le projet se situe au nord-ouest de la République Démocratique du Congo à environ 1 000 km de Kinshasa, dans les régions de Basankusu et de Bolomba (province de l’Equateur). Il est porté par GACEBB qui œuvre dans la région depuis 2009, et se déroule dans 8 villages forestiers (200 km²) situés à proximité de Basankusu, à 500 km du chef-lieu de la Province, Mbandaka. Il s’agit du seul acteur de la société civile congolaise active sur des questions de conservation implanté de manière permanent à Basankusu, zone particulièrement enclavée.

 

Ces forêts abritent des populations de bonobos (Pan paniscus, EN) directement menacées par la chasse intensive pour la viande de brousse, le braconnage et l’agriculture sur brûlis. A cela s’ajoute l’implantation dans la zone de sociétés d’exploitation forestière (s’accompagnant bien souvent de coupes illicites) et d’exploitation d’huile de palme entrainant la mise en place de plantations de palmiers à huile en monoculture.

 

En RDC, la conservation de la nature est du ressort de l’Institut Congolais pour la Conservation de la Nature (ICCN) mais les zones visées par le projet ne sont pas gérées par l’ICCN. Le manque d’informations sur les populations de bonobo existantes et les niveaux de pression rend difficile la prise de décisions pour la mise en place de mesures de protection des espèces et de gestion des écosystèmes.

 

GACEBB a déjà bénéficié de deux projets PPI (PPI 4.1 et 4.3) qui ont produits de bons résultats et dont les objectifs principaux étaient de protéger la faune sauvage et le bonobo en particulier, en associant directement les chasseurs traditionnels et en proposant aux populations des alternatives par le développement de l’élevage et la pisciculture.

L’objectif global de ce projet est de contribuer à une conservation participative et intégrée des espèces fauniques et plus particulièrement des bonobos des écosystèmes de Basankusu et Bolomba. Plus spécifiquement, le projet vise à approfondir la compréhension du statut de conservation des bonobos et des autres principaux grands mammifères et préciser les menaces pesant sur eux dans les forêts « Fondé » et de    « Soolo-Djulu », de renforcer le degré de protection effective des bonobos dans la zone d’intervention et dans les forêts reconnues comme prioritaires et enfin de sécuriser foncièrement les espaces forestiers au profit des communautés locales.

GACEBB a bénéficié d’un appui organisationnel de la part de Well Grounded et fait également partie de « l’Alliance Grands Singes d’Afrique Centrale » (AGSAC) financé par le PPI.