• Creation-Management of Community based Protected Areas

Community governance and management of natural resources in South Benin

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Community governance and management of natural resources in South Benin

The Sitatunga Valley Community Natural Park (PNCVS, 15,000 ha), located about 30 km from Cotonou, is home to a rich biodiversity with 193 species of birds, 51 species of reptiles, 400 species of plants and 47 species of mammals including , of course, the Sitatunga (Tragelaphus spekii, EN). This community resource management initiative, piloted by CREDI-ONG since 2007, has made it possible to set up a management structure: the Territorial Park Management Committee (CTGP) which involves local elected officials and representatives of the National Management Center. Wildlife Reserves (CENAGREF) and the Ministry in charge of the Living Environment and Sustainable Development as well as local populations and in particular hunters who remain a threat to Sitatunga despite its status as a protected species.

 

Although being a protected area, the PNCVS currently only enjoys a low level of official recognition (municipal level) and is not spared from threats linked to population expansion (overexploitation of its natural resources) and activities harmful to the environment (illegal extractions and logging).

 

This project aims to consolidate the existence of the Sitatunga Valley by improving the efficiency of management and governance of natural resources in the area as well as to extend the community management initiative to wetlands in South Benin ( the Ouémé and Mono basins), thanks to co-financing from IUCN Netherlands, to become a protected area of ​​67,000 ha.

• Création-Gestion d'aires protégées

Gouvernance et gestion communautaires des ressources naturelles au Sud Bénin

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Gouvernance et gestion communautaires des ressources naturelles au Sud Bénin

Le Parc Naturel Communautaire de la Vallée du Sitatunga (PNCVS, 15 000 ha), situé à environ 30 km de Cotonou, abrite une riche biodiversité avec 193 espèces d’oiseaux, 51 espèces de reptiles, 400 espèces végétales et 47 espèces de mammifères dont, bien entendu, le Sitatunga (Tragelaphus spekii, EN). Cette initiative de gestion communautaire des ressources, pilotée par CREDI-ONG depuis 2007, a permis de mettre en place une structure de gestion : le Comité Territorial de Gestion du Parc (CTGP) qui implique des élus locaux, des représentants du Centre National de Gestion des Réserves de Faune (CENAGREF) et du Ministère en charge du Cadre de Vie et du Développement Durable ainsi que les populations locales et notamment les chasseurs qui restent une menace pour le Sitatunga malgré son statut d’espèce protégée.

 

Bien qu’étant une aire protégée, le PNCVS ne bénéficie, à l’heure actuelle, que d’un faible niveau de reconnaissance officiel (niveau communal) et n’est pas épargné par les menaces liées à l’expansion démographique (surexploitation de ses ressources naturelles) et aux activités néfastes pour l’environnement (extractions et exploitations forestières illégales).

Ce projet a pour objectif de consolider l’existence de la Vallée du Sitatunga en améliorant l’efficacité de gestion et la gouvernance des ressources naturelles de la zone ainsi que d’étendre l’initiative de gestion communautaire aux zones humides du Sud-Bénin (les bassins de l’Ouémé et du Mono), grâce à un cofinancement de l’UICN Pays-Bas, pour devenir une aire protégée de 67 000 ha.