• Threatened species conservation

Development of sustainable agriculture and protection of the bonobo in the territory of Bolobo

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Development of sustainable agriculture and protection of the bonobo in the territory of Bolobo
  • Bénéficiaire MMT - Mbou Mon Tour
  • Montant du projet € 25 410
  • Subventions FFEM € 20 000
  • État du projet achevé

The project “Development of sustainable agriculture and protection of the bonobo in the territory of Bolobo” is carried out in the future forest concession of the local communities of the Mbali river located in the territory of Bolobo, Province of Bandundu in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The project will cover the village lands of around 84,735 ha belonging to the Bodzuna, Embirima, Makaa, Mbee, Mpelu and Nkala villages, ie around 6,000 people. The Bolobo region is home to bonobos, a species endemic to the DRC and listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

 

The latest inventories carried out in 2015 reveal a density of bonobos estimated at 0.76 ind. / km² for all the sites concerned. They live in a forest-savanna mosaic (40% herbaceous-shrub savannah and 60% tropical rainforest). Almost all of the households there practice shifting slash-and-burn agriculture, impoverishing the soil and degrading the forests. This practice poses a major threat to bonobo habitat and the environment globally. This is how this project encourages the cultivation of legumes in the savannah, which enrich the soil and allow the population to increase their income while gradually reducing their dependence on the forest.

 

MMT’s mission is to safeguard biodiversity, more particularly the bonobo (Pan paniscus), and its habitat by associating its protection with the development of alternative economic activities likely to improve the living conditions of the local population. To accomplish its mission, MMT, based on article 22 of the Congolese forest code, is supporting the local population in the process of obtaining a forest concession from local communities to develop the conservation of Bonobo through the revaluation of customs, respect and application of laws, participatory community monitoring, ecotourism and the development of alternative income-generating activities.

 

It is in this context that MMT wishes to develop a pilot field project for the multiplication of legume seeds with high nutritional and market values ​​in consumption centers such as Bolobo, Mushie, Tshumbiri and Ngabenge (in the DRC) and M’pouya. , Makotimpoko and Mongolo (in Congo Brazzaville). The seeds from the pilot fields will be distributed to the population who will cultivate them in the barren savannah in order to reduce the pressure on the forest, habitat of the bonobo.

 

It is also a question of developing sustainable agriculture favorable to both self-consumption and the diversification of income sources. The main objective of this project is to increase the involvement of local populations in the conservation of bonobos by reducing pressure on their habitat and improving the diet and living conditions of local populations. This project is part of a global program: “Great Apes of Central Africa of the PPI” (PPI-GSAC) which is a joint initiative developed by 6 African Civil Society Organizations, partners of the PPI in Central Africa whose objective is the pooling of their experiences and an action program.

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Développement d’une agriculture durable et protection du bonobo dans le territoire de Bolobo 

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Développement d’une agriculture durable et protection du bonobo dans le territoire de Bolobo 
  • Bénéficiaire MMT - Mbou Mon Tour
  • Montant du projet € 25 410
  • Subventions FFEM € 20 000
  • État du projet achevé

Le projet « Développement d’une agriculture durable et protection du bonobo dans le territoire de Bolobo » est réalisé dans la future concession forestière des communautés locales de la rivière Mbali située dans le territoire de Bolobo, Province de Bandundu en République Démocratique du Congo. Le projet va couvrir les terroirs villageois d’environ 84 735 ha appartenant aux villages Bodzuna, Embirima, Makaa, Mbee, Mpelu et Nkala, soit environ 6 000 personnes.

La région de Bolobo abrite des bonobos, une espèce endémique à la RDC et classée en danger sur la liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN. Les derniers inventaires réalisés en 2015 révèlent une densité des bonobos estimée à 0.76 ind. /km² pour l’ensemble des sites concernés. Ils vivent dans une mosaïque de forêt-savane (40% de savane herbacée-arbustive et 60% de forêt tropicale humide). La quasi-totalité des ménages y pratiquent l’agriculture itinérante sur brulis, appauvrissant le sol et dégradant les forêts.  Cette pratique constitue une menace majeure pour l’habitat des bonobos et l’environnement de manière globale. C’est ainsi que ce projet encourage la culture dans la savane des légumineuses, lesquelles enrichissent le sol et permettent à la population d’augmenter leur revenu tout en réduisant progressivement leur dépendance à la forêt.

La mission de MMT est de sauvegarder la biodiversité, plus particulièrement le bonobo (Pan paniscus), et son habitat en associant sa protection au développement d’activités économiques alternatives susceptibles d’améliorer les conditions de vie de la population riveraine. Pour accomplir sa mission, MMT, en se fondant sur l’article 22 du code forestier congolais, est en train d’accompagner la population locale dans le processus d’obtention d’une concession forestière des communautés locales pour y développer la conservation du Bonobo par la revalorisation des us et coutumes, le respect et l’application des lois, la surveillance communautaire participative, l’écotourisme et le développement des activités alternatives génératrices de revenus.

C’est dans ce cadre que MMT souhaite développer un projet de champs pilotes de multiplication des semences de légumineuses dotées de hautes valeurs nutritives et marchandes dans les centres de consommation tels que Bolobo, Mushie, Tshumbiri et Ngabenge (en RDC) et M’pouya, Makotimpoko et Mongolo (au Congo Brazzaville). Les semences issues des champs pilotes seront distribuées à la population qui les cultivera dans la savane dénudée afin de réduire la pression sur la forêt, habitat du bonobo. Il s’agit également de développer une agriculture durable favorable à la fois à l’autoconsommation et à la diversification des sources des revenus.

L’objectif principal de ce projet est d’augmenter l’implication des populations locales dans la conservation des bonobos en réduisant les pressions sur son habitat et en améliorant l’alimentation et les conditions de vie des populations locales. Ce projet s’inscrit dans un programme global : « Grands Singes d’Afrique Centrale du PPI » (PPI-GSAC) qui est une initiative conjointe développée par 6 Organisations de la Société Civile africaines, partenaires du PPI en Afrique Centrale dont l’objectif est la mise en commun de leurs expériences et d’un programme d’actions.