• Valorisation durable des ressources naturelles

Development of sustainable agrosystems in the riparian zone of Taï National Park

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Development of sustainable agrosystems in the riparian zone of Taï National Park
  • Bénéficiaire Conservation Taï
  • Montant du projet € 64 194
  • Subventions FFEM € 29 413
  • État du projet en cours

The Taï National Park, (PNT), located in the southwest of the Ivory Coast, is the largest primary tropical forest in West Africa, under protection, with an area of ​​536,017 ha in one piece. It joined the network of Biosphere Reserves in 1978 and is also one of the natural sites inscribed on the World Heritage list since 1982. About 1,300 species of vascular plants have been recorded in the park, of which around 12% are endemic (Adou et al., 2005). As for fauna, the PNT is a priority site for the conservation of primates in Africa with 11 species present. The most threatened species are (EN) the Jentink’s Duiker (Cephalophus jentinki, EN), the Pigmy Hippopotamus (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN) and the Chimpanzee (Pan troglodytes verus, CR).

 

The project area, like the entire periphery of the park, records large areas of agricultural cocoa, oil palm and rubber tree plantations. Cash crops form the basis of the local economy, thus highlighting a lack of diversification of speculations and ecological intensification. Chemical contamination in the park linked to the use of inputs for growing cocoa is a definite threat to its remarkable biodiversity. Other threats are the poaching of species, gold mining and the harvesting of non-timber forest products.

 

Created in 2002, the NGO Conservation Taï’s mission is to support the sustainable management of the PNT through the coordination and harmonization of interventions and initiatives by local populations in the field of local development. Conservation Taï has been running an agroforestry project in the northeastern periphery of the park since 2015 with the support of the GEF Small Grants Program. The successes recorded in this initiative enabled it to benefit in 2017 from financial support from GIZ to extend this action to the entire periphery of the PNT.

 

To date, nearly 34,000 fruit plants have been produced for the benefit of producers to enrich their cocoa farms. The general objective of the project is to strengthen the protection of the PNT through the promotion of sustainable agrosystems in 8 villages in the north-east of the peripheral zone in order to guarantee the sustainability of the plantations and improve the income of producers, members of the Agricultural Cooperative Benianye de Buyo (CABB). The project will be carried out in partnership with the Ivorian Office of Parks and Reserves (OIPR).

• Valorisation durable des ressources naturelles

Développement d’Agrosystèmes durables en zone riveraine du Parc national Taï 

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Développement d’Agrosystèmes durables en zone riveraine du Parc national Taï 
  • Bénéficiaire Conservation Taï
  • Montant du projet € 64 194
  • Subventions FFEM € 29 413
  • État du projet en cours

Le Parc national de Taï (PNT), situé au sud-ouest de la Côte d’Ivoire, est la plus grande forêt tropicale primaire d’Afrique de l’Ouest sous protection avec une superficie de 536 017 ha d’un seul tenant. Il a intégré le réseau des Réserves de Biosphère en 1978 et fait également partie des sites naturels inscrits sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial depuis 1982. Environ 1 300 espèces de plantes vasculaires ont été répertoriées dans le parc, dont environ 12% sont endémiques (Adou et al., 2005). Quant à la faune, le PNT est un site prioritaire pour la conservation des primates en Afrique avec 11 espèces présentes. Les espèces les plus menacées sont (EN) le Céphalophe de Jentink (Cephalophus jentinki, EN), l’Hippopotame Pigmée (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN) et le Chimpanzé (Pan troglodytes verus, CR).

 

La zone du projet, tout comme l’ensemble de la périphérie du parc enregistre de vastes étendues de plantations agricoles de cacao, de palmier à huile et d’hévéa. Les cultures de rente constituent la base de l’économie locale relevant ainsi une absence de diversification des spéculations et d’intensification écologique. Les contaminations chimiques vers le parc liées à l’utilisation des intrants pour la culture du cacao constituent une menace certaine sur sa biodiversité remarquable. Les autres menaces sont le braconnage des espèces, l’orpaillage et les prélèvements de produits forestiers non ligneux.

 

Créée en 2002, l’ONG Conservation Taï a pour mission, l’appui à la gestion durable du PNT à travers la coordination et l’harmonisation des interventions et initiatives des populations riveraines dans le domaine du développement local. Conservation Taï mène depuis 2015 un projet d’agroforesterie dans la périphérie nord-est du parc avec l’appui du Small Grants Programme du GEF. Les succès enregistrés dans cette initiative lui ont permis de bénéficier en 2017 d’un soutien financier de la GIZ pour étendre cette action à l’échelle de toute la périphérie du PNT. A ce jour, ce sont près 34 000 plants de fruitiers qui ont été produits au bénéfice des producteurs pour l’enrichissement de leurs exploitations cacaoyères.

L’objectif général du projet est de renforcer la protection du PNT à travers la promotion d’agrosystèmes durables dans 8 villages du nord-est de la zone périphérique afin de garantir la durabilité des plantations et d’améliorer les revenus des producteurs, membres de la coopérative Agricole Benianye de Buyo (CABB). Le projet sera mené en partenariat avec l’Office Ivoirien des Parcs et Réserves (OIPR).