• Threatened species conservation

Conservation and participatory development of Moukalaba-Doudou National Park

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation and participatory development of Moukalaba-Doudou National Park

With an estimated population of between 5 and 10,000 great apes, Moukalaba-Doudou National Park (PNMD, 449,548 km2), located about 600 km from Libreville, is one of the last refuges for western gorillas ( Gorilla gorilla) and common chimpanzees (Pan troglodytes) of Central Africa. In addition, the National Agency for National Parks (ANPN), through its strategic vision of conservation and promotion of national parks, has identified great ape vision tourism as a priority with the objective of “welcoming, to the ‘horizon 2023, 750 visitors per year in the PNMD for gorilla vision tourism’.

 

For many years, Kyoto University and the Tropical Ecology Research Institute (IRET) have been working to develop a scientific research program on gorillas leading to the semi-habituation of a group of gorillas named ” Kind”. In 2014, the NGO PROGRAM, designated by the ANPN, began a new process of habituation of a group of gorillas from the PNMD named “Mussiru”, intended for tourism, always in collaboration with the University of Kyoto and the IRET.

 

The habituation process accelerated with the PPI project (4.3) but on average, it takes 7 to 8 years for the habituation to be effective and it is therefore imperative to maintain the efforts in this direction but also to improve the living conditions of trackers in the camp. It should be noted that PROGRAM is a founding and active member of the Alliance for the Conservation of Great Apes in Central Africa (AGSAC) network.

 

This project aims to strengthen the needs of the habituation process to ensure the conservation of gorillas and their valuation through vision of sustainable tourism while structuring the local economy and improving territorial governance.

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Conservation et valorisation participative du parc national de Moukalaba-Doudou

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation et valorisation participative du parc national de Moukalaba-Doudou

Avec une population estimée entre 5 et 10 000 grands singes, le Parc National de Moukalaba-Doudou (PNMD, 449 548 km2), situé à environ 600 km de Libreville, représente l’un des derniers refuges pour les gorilles de l’Ouest (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) et les chimpanzés communs (Pan troglodytes) d’Afrique Centrale. Par ailleurs, l’Agence Nationale des Parcs Nationaux (ANPN), à travers sa vision stratégique de conservation et de promotion des parcs nationaux, a identifié le tourisme de vision des grands singes comme une priorité avec pour objectif d’« accueillir, à l’horizon 2023, 750 visiteurs par an dans le PNMD pour le tourisme de vision des gorilles ».

 

Depuis de nombreuses années, l’Université de Kyoto et l’Institut de Recherche en Ecologie Tropicale (IRET) travaillent pour le développement d’un programme de recherche scientifique sur les gorilles menant à la semi-habituation d’un groupe de gorilles nommé « Gentil ».

 

En 2014, l’ONG PROGRAM, désignée par l’ANPN, a débuté un nouveau processus d’habituation d’un groupe de gorilles du PNMD nommé « Mussiru », destiné au tourisme, toujours en collaboration avec l’Université de Kyoto et l’IRET. Le processus d’habituation s’est accéléré avec le projet PPI (4.3) mais en moyenne, il faut attendre 7 à 8 ans pour que l’habituation soit effective et il est donc impératif de maintenir les efforts dans ce sens mais également d’améliorer les conditions de vie des pisteurs sur le camp.

 

Il est à noter que PROGRAM est un membre fondateur et actif du réseau Alliance pour la conservation des Grands Singes en Afrique Centrale (AGSAC)

Ce projet vise à renforcer les besoins du processus d’habituation pour assurer la conservation des gorilles et leur valorisation à travers le tourisme durable de vision tout en structurant l’économie locale et en améliorant la gouvernance territoriale.