• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Affirmation of a regional network of African NGOs for the conservation of great apes in Central Africa

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Affirmation of a regional network of African NGOs for the conservation of great apes in Central Africa

AGSAC was created in 2016 by six NGOs from four countries of the Central Africa sub-region (Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Gabon, DRC) with the objectives of strengthening the credibility and legitimacy of this category of actors within the Nature conservation process in the region.

 

The network is currently made up of seven NGO members of the network which are implementing actions on the ground for the conservation of great apes in sites of high ecological value in Central Africa.

 

The network, as a platform for work and exchange between African NGO members, must be able to influence the governance of great ape conservation by facilitating the participation of the latter in discussions and negotiations relating to this issue. The GSAC Alliance is therefore positioned as a relevant tool for the sub-region to promote local civil society working in the conservation of great apes in order to increase their commitment and improve their conservation actions on the ground.

 

There is only one reason for the existence of the GSAC Alliance: to defend and promote great ape conservation efforts by civil society in Central Africa. This project is a continuation of the first support from the PPI and should make it possible to strengthen its position in the national, sub-regional and international institutional landscape, and to diversify the Technical and Financial Partners (PTF).

• Sauvegarde des espèces menacées

Affirmation d’un réseau régional d’ONG africaines pour la conservation des grands singes en Afrique Centrale

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Affirmation d’un réseau régional d’ONG africaines pour la conservation des grands singes en Afrique Centrale

L’AGSAC a été créée en 2016 par six ONG de quatre pays de la sous-région Afrique Centrale (Cameroun, Congo Brazzaville, Gabon, RDC) avec pour objectifs de renforcer la crédibilité et la légitimité de cette catégorie d’acteurs au sein des processus de conservation de la Nature dans la région.

 

Le réseau est actuellement composé de sept ONG membres du réseau qui mettent en œuvre sur le terrain des actions de conservation des grands singes dans des sites à haute valeur écologique de l’Afrique Centrale.

 

Le réseau, en tant que plateforme de travail et d’échanges entre ONG africaines membres, doit pouvoir influencer la gouvernance en matière de conservation des grands singes en facilitant la participation de ces dernières aux discussions et négociations relatives à cette problématique. L’Alliance GSAC se positionne donc comme un outil pertinent de la sous-région au service de la promotion de la société civile locale œuvrant dans la conservation des grands singes en vue d’accroitre leur engagement et d’améliorer leurs actions de conservation sur le terrain. L’existence de l’Alliance GSAC s’explique par une seule raison : défendre et valoriser les efforts de conservation des grands singes par la société civile d’Afrique centrale.

 

Le présent projet se situe dans la continuité des premiers appuis du PPI et doit permettre de renforcer sa position dans le paysage institutionnel national, sous régional et international, et de diversifier les Partenaires Techniques et Financiers (PTF).