• Anti-poaching

Securing of wildlife migration corridors west of UTO Benoué

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Securing of wildlife migration corridors west of UTO Benoué

The Bénoué National Park, (PNB, 180,000 ha), 1,000 km from Yaoundé, sheltered species such as the black rhinoceros, the cheetah, the wild dog and attracted tourists, (sighting and hunting). Today the park faces many threats such as illegal gold mining, poaching and encroachment on agricultural land.

 

Since the withdrawal of the NGO, WWF, in 2005, the local population has also complained that they are no longer involved, as in the past, in the management of the park nor supported in socio-economic development strategies.

 

Around the park, there are 8 Hunting Zones of Interest (ZIC), 2 of which, (ZIC 1 and 4), have been transferred to local populations and more specifically to the local ZIC management committees,(COZIC). Within these 2 ZICs, there are 7 migration corridors that are essential for the passage of wildlife between the Faro National Park, (330,000 ha), and the Bouba Ndjidda National Park, (220,000 ha), which represent the only areas of passage.

 

The main objective of this project is to protect the wildlife migration corridors west of the Bénoué Technical Operational Unit, (UTO), which is made up of the park and the 8 peripheral ZICs.

• Lutte anti-braconnage

Sécurisation des corridors de migration de la faune sauvage de l’ouest de l’UTO Benoué

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Sécurisation des corridors de migration de la faune sauvage de l’ouest de l’UTO Benoué

Le Parc National de la Bénoué (PNB, 180 000 ha) à 1 000 km de Yaoundé abritait des espèces telles que le rhinocéros noir, le guépard, le lycaon et attirait des touristes (de vision et de chasse).

Aujourd’hui le parc fait face à de nombreuses menaces telles que l’orpaillage illégal, le braconnage et l’empiètement des surfaces agricoles. Depuis le retrait de l’ONG WWF en 2005, la population locale se plaint également de ne plus être ni associée comme jadis dans la gestion du parc ni accompagnée dans les stratégies de développement socio-économique.

Autour du parc, il existe 8 Zones d’Intérêt Cynégétiques (ZIC) dont 2 (ZIC 1 et 4) ont été rétrocédées aux populations locales et plus spécifiquement aux Comités locaux de gestion des ZIC (COZIC). Au sein de ces 2 ZIC, on retrouve 7 corridors de migration indispensables pour le passage de la faune sauvage entre le Parc National du Faro (330 000 ha) et le Parc National de la Bouba Ndjidda (220 000 ha) qui représentent les seules zones de passage.

L’objectif principal de ce projet est de protéger les corridors de migration de la faune à l’ouest de l’Unité Technique Opérationnelle (UTO) Bénoué qui est composée du parc et des 8 ZIC périphériques.