• Anti-poaching

Strengthening the anti-poaching fight in the PoNaSi ecological complex

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Strengthening the anti-poaching fight in the PoNaSi ecological complex

The complex, called Pô-Nazinga-Sissili (PoNaSi, 355,700 ha), is located straddling the South Center and Center-West regions of Burkina Faso. This Complex is, (together with the WAP Complex in the East), one of the last major zones of Sudano-Sahelian forest-savanna ecosystems in the country reserved for wildlife and forests in Burkina Faso and constitutes the last ecological continuum of importance of the south and is home to a great diversity of flora, fish and fauna. It is home to emblematic species including one of the last elephant populations (Loxodona africana, VU) still substantial (+ -700), many buffaloes (Syncerus caffer, NT), and various antelopes such as cobs, cobs defassa, hartebeests, roan antelopes, ourébis, harnessed bushbuck, different species of duikers, … Nevertheless, the PoNaSi complex is greatly depleted as a whole and has lost animal diversity, in particular by the absence of large carnivores, (lions, leopards).

 

The majority of wildlife is concentrated in Nazinga, an area with wildlife facilities such as reservoirs, and where conservation efforts have been concentrated. The threats are intense and growing: subsistence poaching, (local), and commercial poaching, (cross-border), livestock grazing in protected areas, deforestation and carbonization, rapid advance of the agricultural front, uncontrolled bush fires, grabbing of cultivable land by private agricultural investors, (leading to uncontrolled land clearing and pollution of natural resources by the use of pesticides and herbicides), illegal mining activities. In addition, Burkina Faso is currently going through an unprecedented security crisis and protected areas are popular havens for criminals who can set up camps in remote areas and therefore benefit from unlimited access to the natural resources they can use to finance their actions.

 

The well-trained eco-guards, not only protect natural resources against illegal and unsustainable exploitation, but are also often the primary barrier force against robbers and terrorism in the region. The objective of this project is to consolidate the security and good governance of the PoNaSi complex and its periphery in order to lead to a significant reduction in insecurity, poaching and wildlife trafficking, and a better involvement of communities to conservation activities in these protected areas.

• Lutte anti-braconnage

Renforcement de la lutte anti-braconnage dans le complexe écologique PoNaSi

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Renforcement de la lutte anti-braconnage dans le complexe écologique PoNaSi

Le complexe, appelé Pô-Nazinga-Sissili (PoNaSi, 355 700 ha), est situé à cheval sur les régions du Centre Sud et Centre-Ouest du Burkina Faso. Ce Complexe est, (avec le Complexe du WAP dans l’Est), une des dernières grandes zones d’écosystèmes forêts-savanes soudano-sahéliens du pays réservée à la faune et la forêt au Burkina Faso et constitue le dernier continuum écologique d’importance du sud et abrite une grande diversité floristique, halieutique et faunique. Il abrite des espèces emblématiques dont une des dernières populations d’éléphants (‎Loxodona africana, VU) encore conséquentes (+-700), de nombreux buffles (Syncerus caffer, NT), et des antilopes diverses telles que les cobs, cobs defassa, bubales, antilopes rouannes, ourébis, guibs harnachés, différentes espèces de céphalophes, … Néanmoins, le complexe PoNaSi est fortement appauvri dans son ensemble et a perdu en diversité animale, notamment par l’absence de grands carnivores (lions, léopards). La majorité de la faune se concentre à Nazinga, espace disposant d’aménagements en faveur de la faune tels que des retenues d’eau, et où les efforts de préservation ont été concentrés.

 

Les menaces sont intenses et croissantes: braconnage de subsistance (local) et braconnage commercial (transfrontalier), pâturage du bétail dans les aires protégées, déforestation et carbonisation, avancée fulgurante du front agricole, feux de brousse non maîtrisés, accaparement des terres cultivables par des investisseurs agricoles privés (entraînant des défrichements incontrôlés et la pollution des ressources naturelles par l’utilisation de pesticides et d’herbicides), activités minières illégales. De plus, le Burkina Faso traverse actuellement une crise sécuritaire sans précédent et les aires protégées sont des refuges prisés pour les criminels qui peuvent y établir des camps dans des zones reculées et bénéficient dès lors d’un accès sans limite aux ressources naturelles qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour financer leurs actions. Les éco-gardes, bien entrainés, permettent non seulement de protéger les ressources naturelles contre une exploitation illégale et non durable, mais constituent également bien souvent la première force faisant barrière contre les brigands et le terrorisme dans la région.

 

L’objectif de ce projet est de consolider la sécurisation et la bonne gouvernance du complexe PoNaSi et de sa périphérie afin d’aboutir à une diminution importante de l’insécurité, du braconnage et du trafic de faune, et à une meilleure implication des communautés locales aux activités de conservation de ces zones protégées.