• Sustainable use of natural resources

Sustainable community management of Lake Buyo within Taï National Park

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Sustainable community management of Lake Buyo within Taï National Park

The Taï National Park (PNT, 536,017 ha), a protected area of ​​global importance and a Biosphere Reserve, is located in the southwest of Côte d’Ivoire and is home to emblematic species such as the forest elephant (Loxodonta africana cyclotis, VU), Pygmy Hippopotamus (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN), Chimpanzee (Pan troglodytes, EN). In 1980, the artificial lake was created for the construction of a hydroelectric dam of Buyo which engulfed 8,400 ha of its area at the northern limit. Since then, the lake and its ichthyological resources have assumed major economic importance for the area.

 

But these resources are threatened by bad fishing practices, in particular fishing in spawning areas, thus limiting the renewal of the stock or the unsuitable techniques (with non-regulatory nets) used by fishermen to catch fish and even juveniles, supposed to ensure the regeneration of the resource. This strong pressure on the resource is also explained by the low economic diversification of the players.

 

The objective of this project is to strengthen the ecological integrity of Lake Buyo within the Taï National Park through concerted and efficient management of resources and diversification of the livelihoods of the surrounding fishing communities. This project will focus on 5 fishing camps north of the PNT.

• Valorisation durable des ressources naturelles

Gestion communautaire durable du Lac de Buyo au sein du Parc national de Taï

ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Gestion communautaire durable du Lac de Buyo au sein du Parc national de Taï

Le Parc national de Taï (PNT, 536 017 ha), aire protégée d’importance mondiale et Réserve de Biosphère, est situé au sud-ouest de la Côte d’Ivoire et abrite des espèces emblématiques telles que l’Eléphant de forêt (Loxodonta africana cyclotis, VU), l’Hippopotame pygmée (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN), le Chimpanzé (Pan troglodytes, EN). En 1980, le lac artificiel a été créé pour la construction d’un barrage hydroélectrique de Buyo qui a engloutit 8400 ha de son aire à la limite Nord. Depuis, le lac et ses ressources ichtyologiques revêtent une importance économique majeure pour la zone.

 

Mais ces ressources sont menacées par les mauvaises pratiques de pêche, en particulier la pêche dans les zones de frai, limitant ainsi le renouvellement du stock ou les techniques inadaptées (avec des mailles de filets non règlementaires) utilisées par les pêcheurs pour la capture des poissons et même des juvéniles sensés assurer la régénération de la ressource. Cette forte pression sur la ressource s’explique également par la faible diversification économique des acteurs.

 

L’objectif de ce projet est de renforcer l’intégrité écologique du Lac de Buyo au sein du Parc National de Taï à travers une gestion concertée et efficace des ressources et une diversification des moyens de subsistance des communautés de pêcheurs environnantes. Ce projet se focalisera sur 5 campements de pêcheurs au nord du PNT.