The West African Sitatunga Group (WASG) to help save the last Sitatunga populations in West Africa

Published on 11 July 2022
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation des écosystèmesThe West African Sitatunga Group (WASG) to help save the last Sitatunga populations in West Africa

The West African Sitatunga Group (WASG) is a coalition of organizations working to conserve the waterbuck or sitatunga (Tragelaphus spekei) across its range in West Africa. The sitatunga is a species of African antelope that lives in wetlands and swamps and can weigh up to 100 kg.

 

Supported at its inception by the Calgary Zoo (Canada), this network now includes 11 organizations spread across Ghana, Togo and Benin. The WASG’s raison d’être is based on the fact that the sitatunga is an antelope species that is difficult to observe in the wild, which complicates its ecological monitoring and ecotourism development. Moreover, despite its status as a species of minor concern (LC) according to the IUCN, the level of local threats to the sitatunga is particularly high in West Africa. Indeed, it is the last big game of the coastal regions, which makes it an animal particularly sought after by poachers. In addition, its natural habitat, which is made up of relics of gallery forests, swamps and flood plains, is subject to strong anthropic pressures due to the extension of the agro-piscicultural front and urbanization.

 

 

These characteristics are sufficient to make the West African sitatunga populations a species with specific conservation challenges. This justifies the present strategy of the network to promote the convergence of means, energies and intelligence in order to strengthen the capacities of its members and to lead a common advocacy for the species in the sub-region. To achieve this, the WASG has already organized 3 workshops (2 in Benin and 1 in Ghana), and 2 exchange visits (Ghanaians in Benin and Beninese and Togolese in Ghana).

 

Planned to be organized in 2020, a 4th WASG workshop could not be held due to the COVID 19 pandemic and the closure of borders. Until then, members’ travel was exclusively by road for budgetary and ecological reasons.  Thus, after a relatively long period of quasi-inactivity between 2019 and 2021, and thanks to the easing of travel restrictions, it was important for WASG members to get together.

 

It is within this framework that, with the support of PPI, the 4th meeting of the network was organized in Benin on January 26 and 27, 2022 at the CREDI-NGO premises.  About ten organizations were able to take part (including 3 new ones).  At the end of this meeting, the main results recorded were:

 

– The sharing of available information and actions undertaken by the members of the network for the sustainable conservation of Sitatunga ;

 

–  The evaluation of the level of execution of the action plan 2018-2020 ;

 

–  The strategic rapprochement with the IUCN Antelope Specialist Group through an online exchange with Mr. Philippe CHARDONNET its co-chair;

 

–  The development and validation of the 2022-2023 action plan.

 

 

Also since January and in accordance with its action plan, an ad hoc committee has been set up to lead the three major projects of the WASG, namely:

 

– Identify and mobilize new potential members in the Sitatunga’s range in West Africa (notably Nigeria, Gambia, Senegal);

– Formalize the network;

– Contribute to the revision of the IUCN status of the West African sitatunga populations (currently least concern).

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous

Focus : West African Sitatunga Group (WASG)

Published on 11 juillet 2022
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation des écosystèmesFocus : West African Sitatunga Group (WASG)

Le West African Sitatunga Group (WASG) au chevet des dernières populations de Sitatunga d’Afrique de l’Ouest

 

Le West African Sitatunga Group (WASG) est une coalition d’organisations dont les actions concourent à la conservation du guib d’eau ou sitatunga (Tragelaphus spekei) sur son aire de répartition en Afrique de l’Ouest. Le sitatunga est une espèce d’antilope africaine inféodée aux zones humides et marécageuses et pouvant peser jusqu’à 100 kg.

 

Soutenu à sa création par le Calgary Zoo (Canada), ce réseau regroupe aujourd’hui 11 organisations réparties entre le Ghana, le Togo et le Bénin. Le WASG puise sa raison d’être dans le fait que le sitatunga est une espèce d’antilope qui se caractérise par une observation difficile en milieu naturel, ce qui complique son suivi écologique et sa valorisation écotouristique. De plus, malgré un statut d’espèce de préoccupation mineur (LC) selon l’IUCN le niveau de menaces locales sur le sitatunga est particulièrement élevé en Afrique de l’Ouest. C’est en effet, le dernier gros gibier des régions côtières, ce qui en fait un animal particulièrement recherché par les braconniers. Par ailleurs, son habitat naturel que constituent les reliques de forêts galeries, les marécages et plaines inondables est soumis à de fortes pressions anthropiques par l’extension du front agro-piscicole et de l’urbanisation.

 

Ces caractéristiques suffisent à faire des populations de sitatunga d’Afrique de l’Ouest une espèce aux défis de conservation spécifiques. Cela justifie la présente stratégie du réseau de favoriser la convergence des moyens, énergies et intelligences en vue de renforcer les  capacités de ses membres et d’animer un plaidoyer commun en faveur de l’espèce dans la sous-région. Pour y parvenir, le WASG a déjà à son actif l’organisation de 3 workshops (2 organisés au Bénin et 1 au Ghana), et 2 visites d’échanges (Des ghanéens au Bénin et des Béninois et Togolais au Ghana).

 

Prévue pour être organisée en 2020, un 4ème workshop du WASG n’avait pu se tenir en raison notamment de la pandémie de COVID 19 et de la fermeture des frontières. Les déplacements des membres se faisant jusque là exclusivement par la route pour des raisons budgétaires et de cohérence écologique. Ainsi, après une période relativement longue de quasi-inactivité entre 2019 et 2021, et à la faveur de l’assouplissement des restrictions de déplacement, il importait pour les membres du WASG de se retrouver.

 

C’est dans ce cadre qu’avec le soutien du PPI a pu être organisée au Bénin les 26 et 27 janvier 2022 la 4ème rencontre du réseau dans les locaux de CREDI-ONG. Une dizaine d’organisations auront pu y prendre part (dont 3 nouvelles).  A l’issue de cette rencontre les principaux résultats enregistrés furent :

 

    • Le partage des informations disponibles et actions engagées par les membres du réseau pour la conservation durable du Sitatunga ;
    • L’évaluation du niveau d’exécution du plan d’action 2018-2020 ;
    • Le rapprochement stratégique avec le groupe des spécialistes des antilopes de l’IUCN grâce à un échange en ligne avec M. Philippe CHARDONNET son co-président ;
    • L’élaboration et la validation du plan d’action 2022-2023.

 

Aussi depuis janvier et conformément à son plan d’action, un comité ad’hoc a été mis en place pour coordonner les trois grands chantiers du WASG à savoir :

 

    • Identifier et mobiliser de nouveaux membres potentiels sur l’aire de répartition du Sitatunga en Afrique de l’Ouest (notamment Nigéria, Gambie, Sénégal) ;
    • Formaliser le réseau ;
    • Contribuer à la révision du statut IUCN des populations de sitatunga d’Afrique de l’Ouest (actuellement least concern).

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous