Focus: YVEO

Published on 11 July 2022
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation des écosystèmesFocus: YVEO

NGO YVEO: Strengthening the ecological integrity of Lake Buyo within the Taï National Park through concerted and efficient resource management and diversification of the livelihoods of the surrounding fishing communities.

 

Lake Buyo is located in the southwest of Côte d’Ivoire and on the northern boundary of the Taï National Park (TNP). Because of its surface area (8,400 ha), the importance it has today for its riparian populations (approximately 2 000 inhabitants) and its proximity to the TNP, the good management of this artificial lake with a hydroelectric vocation, whose fish are exported to Abidjan, is a necessity. The TNP has the status of a Biosphere Reserve and is home to more than 1200 plant species of which about 200 are endemic to West Africa, 140 species of mammals (12 endemic) of which the most emblematic are probably the Forest Elephant (Loxodonta africana cyclotis, VU), the Pygmy Hippopotamus (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN) and the Chimpanzee (Pan troglodytes, EN), 234 species of birds, and numerous species of amphibians. Buyo Lake is better known and appreciated for its ichthyological diversity, estimated at more than 32 species divided into 13 families, which directly and indirectly provide a living for more than 2,000 actors in the fisheries sector (fishermen, fishmongers, etc.).

 

Unfortunately, these resources are now seriously threatened by bad fishing practices (such as fishing in spawning areas, the use of illegal nets or prohibited techniques); laxity in the application of the texts that govern fishing in continental waters, the lack of structuring of fishing actors and the increase in fishing pressure by local and foreign populations that are too dependent on the resource to live.

 

Materialization of a spawning area 

 

The end of a project but not of a dynamic!

 

As a reminder, our project of “sustainable community management of Buyo Lake within the Taï National Park (TNP)” is the result of a partnership agreement between the Ivorian Office of Parks and Reserves (OIPR) and our NGO Yacoli Village Ecole Ouverte (YVEO). It was based in its design phase on the priority actions mentioned in the local multi-stakeholder agreement of 2017 aimed at strengthening the ecological integrity of Lake Buyo. It was financed by the PPI-5 between 2019 and 2021. In particular, our project willhave enabled:

 

– The creation and operationalization of an umbrella organization of fishermen for the lake called “management cell”;

– The setting up of a “steering committee” framework of dialogue and multi-stakeholders (constituted of members of the management cell, YVEO, OIPR[1], MIRAH[2], representatives of the Regional Council of Nawa and the Prefect of Buyo);

– The delimitation and participatory materialization of 108.13 ha of spawning area on the lake;

– The development and provision of a tool formonitoring catches (data collection form) to fisheries actors (OIPR, fisheries service, fishermen);

– The installation of 03 hectares of wood energy plantation “Acacia mangium“;

– The development of 5 pilot farms, including 3 farms in aulacodiculture for the benefit of 3 fishermen’s associations outside the park (Zoba, Dera and 5 Kilos) and 2 farms in beekeeping for the benefit of 2 fishermen’s associations located in the park (PK 15 and PK 28).

 

All these activities having allowed at the end of 2021 to note the reduction of approximately 60% of the cases of illegal activities of fishing recorded on the lake. A result which is for us very encouraging. All the more so in view of the trying period crossed linked to the pandemic of COVID-19, to the crises due to the last communal and presidential elections in Ivory Coast and finally to the death of our late former president Raymond Y. SIBAILLY.

 

And yes, officially from the point of view of the PPI our project is finished! However, like the great majority of our associative struggles, they cannot be won over such a short period of time…this is the reason why YVEO continues to fight so that the dynamics we have started can live on!

 

Our perspectives…

 

As far as we are concerned, several challenges remain to be met in order to meet the needs. The most important are undoubtedly:

 

– To plead for the taking of a prefectural decree officially prohibiting fishing on the materialized spawning area.

– To keep a permanent watch on the effectiveness of the participatory governance of the fishery and the respect of good fishing practices.

– Facilitate hydro-biological studies in the spawning area.

– To continue the technical accompaniment of our beneficiaries of aulacodic and apicultural units.

– To set up an ecological store for the sale of fishing equipment respecting the regulations.

– To extend our actions all around the area of the TNP.

To achieve these activities and reach our ambitions, we are now actively working to strengthen our volunteer team on the one hand (including the mobilization of interns and national and international volunteers) and our ability to mobilize resources on the other. Taking the elephant by the tusks (not to say the bull by thehorns), we have decided to organize a one-week training course on the subject this June, using our own funds. This training will be led by Damien, the PPI regional coordinator for West Africa, for the benefit of our entire team. This is a first step in the regeneration of YVEO under the leadership of its new president Mr. KOUAME Khassy Georges.

 

Associative Life

 

[1] Ivorian Office for Parcs and Reserves

[2] Ministry in charge of animal and halieutic production

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous

Focus : YVEO

Published on 11 juillet 2022
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Conservation des écosystèmesFocus : YVEO

Renforcer l’intégrité écologique du lac de Buyo au sein du Parc National de Taï à travers une gestion concertée et efficace des ressources et une diversification des moyens de subsistance des communautés de pêcheurs environnantes.

 

Le lac de Buyo est situé au Sud-ouest de la Côte d’Ivoire et sur la limite Nord du Parc National de Taï (PNT). De par sa superficie (8 400 ha), l’importance qu’il revêt aujourd’hui pour ses populations riveraines (environ 2 000 habitants) et sa proximité avec le PNT, la bonne gestion de ce lac artificiel à vocation hydroélectrique, dont les poissons sont exportés jusqu’à Abidjan, est une nécessité. Si le PNT a de son côté le statut de Réserve de Biosphère et abrite plus de 1200 espèces végétales dont environ 200 sont endémiques à l’Afrique de l’Ouest, 140 espèces de mammifères (12 endémiques) dont les plus emblématiques sont probablement l’Eléphant de forêt (Loxodonta africana cyclotis, VU), l’Hippopotame pygmée (Choeropsis liberiensis, EN) et le Chimpanzé (Pan troglodytes, EN), 234 espèces d’oiseaux, et de nombreuses espèces d’amphibiens. Le lac de Buyo est quant à lui davantage connu et apprécié pour sa diversité ichtyologique évaluée à plus de 32 espèces reparties en 13 familles qui font vivre directement et indirectement plus de 2000 acteurs de la filière halieutique (pêcheurs, mareyeuses…).

 

Matérialisation d’une zone de fraie.

 

Malheureusement, ces ressources sont aujourd’hui sérieusement menacées par les mauvaises pratiques de pêche (telles que la pêche dans les zones de frai, l’utilisation de filets non règlementaires ou de techniques prohibées) ; le laxisme dans l’application des textes qui régissent la pêche en eaux continentales, l’absence de structuration des acteurs de la pêche et l’augmentation de la pression de pêche par des populations locales et étrangères trop fortement dépendantes de la ressource pour vivre.

 

La fin d’un projet mais pas d’une dynamique !

 

Pour rappel notre projet de « gestion communautaire durable du lac de Buyo au sein du Parc National de Taï (PNT) » est le fruit d’un partenariat conventionné entre l’Office Ivoirien des Parcs et Réserves (OIPR) et notre ONG Yacoli Village Ecole Ouverte (YVEO). Il s’était appuyé dans sa phase de conception sur les actions prioritaires mentionnées dans la convention locale multi-acteurs de 2017 visant à renforcer l’intégrité écologique du lac de Buyo. Il a pour cela été financé par le PPI-5 entre 2019 et 2021. Notre projet aura notamment permis :

– La création et l’opérationnalisation d’une organisation faitière de pêcheurs pour le lac appelée « cellule de gestion » ;

– La mise en place d’un « comité de pilotage » cadre de concertation et de dialogue multi-acteurs (constitué de membres de la cellule de gestion, d’YVEO, de l’OIPR[1], du MIRAH[2], de représentants du Conseil Régional de la Nawa et du Préfet de Buyo) ;

 

– La délimitation et la matérialisation participative de 108,13 ha de zone de frai sur le lac ;

– Le développement et la mise à la disposition des acteurs de la pêche (OIPR, service Pêche, pêcheurs) d’un outil de suivi des captures (fiche de collecte de données) ;

– L’installation de 03 hectares de plantation de bois énergie « Acacia mangium» ;

– Le développement de 5 fermes pilotes dont 3 fermes en aulacodiculture au profit de 3 associations de pêcheurs hors du parc (Zoba, Dera et 5 Kilos) et 2 fermes en apiculture au profit de 2 associations de pêcheurs qui se trouvent dans le parc (PK 15 et PK 28).

Toutes ces activités ayant permis fin 2021 de noter la réduction d’environ 60% des cas d’activités illégales de pêche recensés sur le lac. Un résultat qui est pour nous très encourageant. D’autant plus au regard éprouvant de la période traversée liée à la pandémie de COVID-19, aux crises dues aux dernières élections communales et présidentielles en Côte d’Ivoire et enfin au décès de notre regretté ex-président Raymond Y. SIBAILLY.

 

 

Et oui officiellement du point de vue du PPI notre projet est terminé ! Toutefois, comme la grande majorité de nos luttes associatives elles ne peuvent se gagner sur des périodes aussi restreintes…c’est la raison pour laquelle YVEO continue de se battre pour que vive et perdure la dynamique amorcée !

 

Nos perspectives…

 

En ce qui nous concerne, plusieurs défis restent encore à relever pour répondre aux besoins. Les plus importants sont sans doute :

 

– Plaider pour la prise d’un arrêté préfectoral interdisant officiellement la pêche sur la zone de frai matérialisée.

– Opérer une veille permanente sur l’effectivité de la gouvernance participative de la pêcherie et au respect des bonnes pratiques de pêche.

– Faciliter des études hydro-biologiques sur la zone de fraie matérialisée.

– Poursuivre l’accompagnement technique de nos bénéficiaires d’unités aulacodicoles et apicoles.

– Mettre en place une boutique écologique de vente de matériels de pêche respectant la réglementation.

– Etendre nos actions tout autour de l’aire du PNT.

 

Pour réaliser ces activités et atteindre nos ambitions, nous travaillons aujourd’hui activement à renforcer notre équipe bénévole d’une part (notamment par la mobilisation de stagiaires et volontaires nationaux et internationaux) et nos capacités à mobiliser des ressources d’autre part. Prenant l’éléphant par les défenses (pour ne pas dire le taureau par les cornes), nous avons d’ailleurs décidé d’organiser ce mois de juin et sur fonds propres une formation d’une semaine sur le sujet. Celle-ci sera animée par Damien, le coordinateur régional PPI pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest au bénéfice de l’ensemble de notre équipe. Il s’agit là d’une première pierre posée sur le chemin de la régénération d’YVEO sous l’impulsion de son nouveau président M. KOUAME Khassy Georges.

 

Formation à la vie associative.

 

[1] Office Ivoirien des Parcs et Réserves

[2] Ministère des Ressources Animales et Halieutiques

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous