Improving the management and governance of the Alibori River (North Benin) in order to optimise the preservation of threatened species and their habitats as well as the associated ecosystem benefits!

Published on 16 December 2021
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. UncategorizedImproving the management and governance of the Alibori River (North Benin) in order to optimise the preservation of threatened species and their habitats as well as the associated ecosystem benefits!

The Alibori River basin (13,740 km²) is located in northwestern Benin. It is an integral part of the transboundary biosphere reserve of Parc W in Benin and of the hunting area of Djona, whose wetlands are classified as Ramsar site 1668. It covers an area of 13,740 km² and mainly includes the communes of Banikoara, Gogounou, Kandi, Karimama and Malanville, all of which are located in the north-west of Benin (about 700 km from the economic capital Cotonou). It plays an important role in the socio-economic plan and constitutes a set of aquatic ecosystems of great ecological importance on which several species depend, including Heterobranchus longifilis, Heterotis niloticus, Synodontis arnoulti, Crocodylus succhus, Python sebae, etc., which are currently listed on the IUCN red list or are fully protected in Benin.

 

Among the main threats to biodiversity in this watershed today are the extension of intensive cotton monoculture characterised by unsustainable cultivation and phytosanitary practices, the filling in of ponds, the non-respect of transhumance corridors, the lax application of texts regulating the use of pesticides and the sustainable management of watersheds.

 

Presentation of the PPI project

 

The “Sustainable management of the Alibori river basin (North Benin)” project is an initiative of the NGO Aquaculture et Développement Durable (AquaDeD) in partnership with the Banikoara town council. Supported by the French Committee of IUCN within the framework of PPI-5, this project mobilises the management committees of the ponds of Banikoara, Kandi and Gogounou, which are at the heart of the management of these ecosystems of great importance in the Alibori river basin. Following a participatory diagnosis carried out with the stakeholders before the project was drafted, several priority actions were identified to reduce the threats to biodiversity, productivity and the enjoyment of the services offered by these ecosystems. These were to:

 

– promoting environmentally sound, economically profitable and socially sustainable production and use practices restore and protect aquatic ecosystems (water quality, biodiversity, habitats, etc.);

– make available and popularise (in local languages in particular) the regulatory texts and laws in force;

– to develop sustainable and profitable fish farming activities in ponds in particular.

 

Our successes with the PPI project…

 

Despite the disruptions linked to COVID-19, the communal and presidential elections and the particularly severe and long drought this year, we have achieved several results alongside the beneficiaries. Among these, we can mention:

– The collection and securing of more than 4,000 empty pesticide containers that were previously discharged into aquatic ecosystems;

– The adoption of a communal decree by the Banikoara town hall with the aim of improving the management of the Alibori river watersheds on the territory of the commune;

– 01 collection of regulatory texts on the management of pesticides and watersheds was published and popularised in French, Bariba and Fulfudé;

– 04 local conventions on participatory management of ponds were drawn up, validated, adopted and implemented in the ponds of Batran, Sori, Tissarou and Gambané;

– Reforestation and securing of the banks of 04 ponds of ecological importance;

– 5 ha of spawning areas developed and/or protected in the targeted ponds

– 04 ponds were stocked with more than 5,200 fry of synodontis, heterotis, clarias and tilapia in order to optimise their halieutic productivity while preserving the ecosystems concerned;

– 47 members of the management committees of the targeted ponds and agents of the ATDAs and town halls were trained on good fish farming practices in the targeted ponds.

 

And the rest…

The results presented here are only a sketch of the progress made towards sustainable management of the aquatic ecosystems of the Alibori river basin. As far as we are concerned, several challenges still remain. The most important are undoubtedly:

 

– the monitoring of reforested areas, particularly the riverbanks, which, despite the actions undertaken, remain fragile and are subject to various pressures from both transhumant herders and farmers settled on the periphery.

– recycling of empty pesticide packaging that has been secured. In addition to the packaging recovered, the NGO is currently pursuing discussions with town halls for advocacy at the highest level involving SODECO (which supplies the pesticides) and the cotton interprofession (AIC) in order to organise national campaigns for the collection and treatment of this toxic waste, which is estimated to amount to several tens of thousands per year for the Alibori basin alone.

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous

Améliorer la gestion et la gouvernance de la rivière Alibori (Nord Bénin) afin d’optimiser la préservation des espèces menacées et de leurs habitats ainsi que des bénéfices écosystémiques associés !

Published on 16 décembre 2021
ICON/BTN/arrow/2/arrow-down Created with Sketch. Non classifié(e)Améliorer la gestion et la gouvernance de la rivière Alibori (Nord Bénin) afin d’optimiser la préservation des espèces menacées et de leurs habitats ainsi que des bénéfices écosystémiques associés !

Le bassin de la rivière Alibori (13 740 km²) est situé au Nord-Ouest Bénin. Il fait partie intégrante de la réserve de biosphère transfrontalière du Parc W au Bénin et de la zone cynégétique de la Djona dont les zones humides sont classées site Ramsar 1668. Il s’étend sur une superficie de 13.740 km² et couvre principalement les communes de Banikoara, Gogounou, Kandi, Karimama et Malanville, toutes situées au nord-Ouest du Bénin (environ 700 km de Cotonou la capitale économique). Il joue un rôle prépondérant au plan socio-économique et constitue un ensemble d’écosystèmes aquatiques de grandes importances écologiques dont dépendent plusieurs espèces au nombre desquelles Heterobranchus longifilis, Heterotis niloticus, Synodontis arnoulti, Crocodylus succhus, Python sebae, etc., actuellement inscrites sur la liste rouge de l’UICN ou intégralement protégées en République du Bénin.

 

Parmi les principales menaces qui pesaient aujourd’hui sur la biodiversité de ce bassin versant il y a notamment l’extension de la monoculture intensive de coton caractérisée par des pratiques culturales et phytosanitaires peu durables, le comblement des mares, le non-respect des couloirs de transhumance, le laxisme dans l’application des textes règlementant l’usage des pesticides et la gestion durable des bassins versants.

 

Présentation du projet PPI

 

Le projet de « Gestion durable du bassin de la rivière Alibori (Nord Bénin) » est une initiative de l’ONG Aquaculture et Développement Durable (AquaDeD) en partenariat avec la Mairie de Banikoara. Soutenu par le Comité français de l’UICN dans le cadre du PPI-5, ce projet mobilise les comités de gestion des mares de Banikoara, Kandi et Gogounou qui sont au cœur de la gestion de ces écosystèmes de grande importance dans le bassin de la rivière Alibori. Suite à un diagnostic participatif réalisé avec les parties prenantes en amont de la rédaction du projet, plusieurs actions prioritaires y avait alors été identifiées pour réduire les menaces qui pesaient sur la biodiversité, la productivité et la jouissance des services offerts par ces écosystèmes. Il s’agissait de :

 

– promouvoir des pratiques de production et d’exploitation respectueuses de l’environnement, économiquement rentables et socialement viables ;

– restaurer et protéger les écosystèmes aquatiques (qualité des eaux, biodiversité, habitats, etc.) ;

– rendre disponible et vulgariser (en langues locales notamment) les textes et lois règlementaires en vigueur ;

– développer des activités piscicoles durables et rentables dans les mares notamment.

 

Nos succès avec le projet PPI…

 

En dépit des perturbations liée à la COVID-19, aux élections communales et présidentielles ou encore à la sécheresse particulièrement sévère et longue cette année, nous avons atteint aux côtés des bénéficiaires, plusieurs résultats. Au nombre de ceux-ci, on peut évoquer :

 

– La collecte et la sécurisation de plus 4 000 emballages vides de pesticides autrefois rejetés dans les écosystèmes aquatiques ;

– La prise d’un arrêté communal par la Mairie de Banikoara dans le but d’améliorer la gestion des bassins versants de la rivière Alibori sur le territoire de la Commune ;

– 01 recueil de textes règlementaires sur la gestion des pesticides et des bassins versants a été édité et vulgarisé en français, Bariba et fulfudé ;

– 04 conventions locales de gestion participative des mares ont été élaborées, validées, adoptées et mises en œuvre au niveau des mares de Batran, Sori, Tissarou et Gambané;

– Le reboisement et la sécurisation des berges de 04 mares d’importance écologique ;

– 1,5 ha de zones de fraies aménagées et/ou mis en défend au niveau des mares ciblées

– 04 mares ont été empoissonnées avec plus de 5 200 alevins de synodontis, heterotis, clarias et tilapia afin d’optimiser leur productivité halieutique tout en préservant les écosystèmes concernés;

– 47 membres des comités de gestion des mares ciblées et agents des ATDA et Mairies ont été formés sur les bonnes pratiques piscicoles dans les mares ciblées.

 

Et la suite…

 

Les résultats ici présentés ne sont qu’une ébauche des progrès réalisés pour une gestion durable des écosystèmes aquatiques du bassin de la rivière Alibori. En ce qui nous concerne, plusieurs défis restent encore à relever.

Les plus importants sont sans doute :

 

– le suivi des espaces reboisés notamment des berges qui, malgré les actions entreprises restent fragiles et subissent diverses pressions aussi bien de la part des transhumants que des agriculteurs installés en périphérie.

– le recyclage des emballages vides de pesticides sécurisées. Au-delà des emballages récupérés, l’ONG poursuit actuellement les discussions avec les mairies pour un plaidoyer au plus haut niveau impliquant la SODECO (qui fournit les pesticides) et l’interprofession coton (AIC) afin d’organiser des campagnes nationales de collecte et traitement de ces déchets toxiques évalués à plusieurs dizaines de millier par an pour le seul bassin de l’Alibori.

Faisons connaissance,

suivez nous sur les rseaux ou contactez-nous